The Washington Times-Herald

November 21, 2012

Loogootee to try new program

By Tim Pinkham
Washington Times-Herald


LOOGOOTEE – By bettering the lives of Loogootee students, fourth-grade teacher Megan Jones hopes this will lead to increased ISTEP scores across the corporation.

Jones has been the driving force behind establishing the Loogootee Elementary School-Community Council.

Mayor Noel Harty praised the council idea Monday night during the Loogootee School Board meeting.

He plans to attend the first meeting, which will be at 6 p.m. Dec. 3 at the elementary school.

Jones has taught at Loogootee for 10 years, the last nine as a fourth-grade teacher.

Hers is one of the grades which must take the ISTEP each year.

Contacted Tuesday morning at school, Jones hopes the monthly council meetings will lead to a constructive partnership between school personnel, parents, residents and community organizations.

Jones said there are needs teachers have, such as finding good tutors and securing classroom supplies, which she believes might be met through those who attend the school council meetings.

Anyone interested in the council should e-mail Jones at or phone the school at 295-2833, ext. 131.

During the school and student success portion of the school board meeting, intermediate/high school Principal John Mullen praised the success of the Loogootee Beta Club during the recent state convention. He noed Adam Lark was elected Indiana state vice president.

Not every high school in Indiana has a Beta Club, but Loogootee has had one for 17 years. Mullen described the students in Beta Club as “top-notch kids,” and said they compete successfully each year against the top-notch kids from other schools across the state, many of which are much larger.

Shelley Christmas, a high school science teacher, is the Beta Club sponsor for a second year.

She said Tuesday that those club members who finished in first place in state competition will go on to the national Beta Club convention in Mobile, Ala, June 19-22.

Beta Awards

Curtis Slaubaugh — John W. Harris Leadership Award, 1st place, sculpture-mixed media, 3rd place – Spanish and 3rd place - Spotlight display.

Adam Lark — Indiana State Vice President and 1st place — Campaign booth.

Loogootee Beta Club -1st place - Campaign skit and 2nd place – Philanthropy.

Scrapbook —1st place.

Banner — 1st place.

Jesse Horney —1st place - Colored Pencil Drawing.

Ashley Jones —1st place - Photography (color.

Emma Graber — 2nd place - Needlework.

Tyler Spears — 2nd place - French.

Hannah Fleace —3rd place - Creative writing.

Group Talent — 3rd place.