The Washington Times-Herald

April 22, 2013

WHS finishes 7th in Evansville

From Staff Reports
Washington Times Herald

EVANSVILLE — Washington placed seventh in Saturday’s Evansville Central Invitational at Cambridge Golf Club.

Clay Hatton paced the Hatchets (35-18) with a round of 84 as Washington shot a team score of 354.

“Clay was steady all day, with the exception of three consecutive double bogeys late in his round,” Washington coach Bill Ricke said. “He’s a consistent ball striker.”

Evansville North won the 11-team event with a score of 312.  Vincennes Lincoln placed second with 323.

Evansville Central’s Dylan Meyer and Vincennes Lincoln’s Austin Leonard shared medalist honors with rounds of 73 on the cool and windy links-style course.

Devan Rude shot 87 for Washington, Conner Brown 91 and Tyler Stoll 92.

“Devan had his best tournament outing of the season. This is a huge bright spot for us as we near the Big 8 Tournament,” Ricke said.

“Connor was consistent most of the day in his round. Tyler struck the ball well. He just needs to be just a bit more aggressive in his approach shots and putting.”

Evansville Central Invitational

Cambridge Golf Club



Team and individual scores

Evansville North (312)

David Daniels 74, Landon Smith 76, Zach Turi 79, Blake Merrill 83.

Vincennes Lincoln (323)

Austin Leonard 73, Tanner Daniel 78, Zach Thomas 86, Cirby Klumpp 86.

Castle (324)

James Titzer 77, Noah Reese 78, Isaac Alling 82, Andrew Buzza 90.

Evansville Reitz (330)

Logan Hurt 77, Devin Garrett 84, Mitch Tenbarge 84, Jacob Sexton 85.

Heritage Hills (330)

Sam Collins 81, Preston VanWinkle 82, Corey Teaford 84, Austin Hagan 92.

Evansville Mater Dei (353)

Alex Schoetlin 85, Craig Wilmes 85, Drew Winiger 88, Jacob Heofling 95.

Washington (354)

Clay Hatton 84, Devan Rude 87, Connor Brown 91, Tyler Stoll 92.

Evansville Central (356)

Dylan Meyer 73, Austin VanBriston 84, Teed Leonhardt 99, Nate Phelps 100.

Gibson Southern (363)

Martin Coyle 82, Jacob Titzer 92, Shane Murphy 94, Brandon Rainey 95.

Boonville (382)

John Todd Maple 93, Kyler Klein 95, Kyle Washburn 96, Hunter Waters 98.

Evansville Harrison (429)

Wyatt Maynard 100, Joe Cook 103, Dylan Turner 110, Corey Gilbreath 116.