The Daviess County Chamber of Commerce celebrated a banner year with its annual banquet at the Washington Moose Lodge on Tuesday.

Not only has the chamber been celebrating business growth in the county, the organization has been named the 2010 state Chamber of the Year.

“It’s amazing some of the things that have taken place this year,” Chamber Executive Director Charles Selby said. “There’s just a tremendous amount of growth in Daviess County.”

The chamber and its board celebrated its year by presenting some of its awards to several of the county’s largest business leaders, both past and present.

Traylor Fertilizer, Montgomery, celebrated its 53rd year in business by being named the Business of the Year for 2010. Joe Traylor said it was “wonderful” to receive the award.

Traylor went on to say that along with his family, his faith, employees and customers have been instrumental to Traylor Fertilizer’s business success.

“We feel we must be doing something good,” Traylor joked. “Daviess County is a good place to live.”

Another titan of Daviess County business, Tom Boyd, was awarded the Hagel Award for his work “above and beyond,” according to Dave Frette.

“Tom is a perfect example of the saying ‘If you want a good neighborhood, you have to be a good neighbor,’” Frette said.

Boyd’s family and longtime employees came in to surprise him when he received the award. He thanked everyone for the honor.

“Those are definitely people that deserve some awards,” Selby said.

A relatively new business, the Blue Door, was the recipient of the Dillon Tourism Award, named after county tourism matriarch Lucille Dillon.

Selby said the owners of the Blue Door, Connie and Stephen Carr, “always strive to make visitors feel at home.”

Connie Carr, sitting next to Dillon, gave her appreciation and showed excitement after the awards presentation.

Michael Snyder of the MEK Group presented the first Arthur R. Boddy award, named after the respected engineer and philanthropist. Daviess County Economic Development Corporation Executive Director Ron Arnold said the award is for someone “that moves forward.”

“When Arthur Boddy touched any project, he left it better than when he found it,” Dave Cox said.

The first recipient of the Boddy award was someone that has moved forward for most of his 90-plus years, former state treasurer John K. Snyder.

Snyder, before he ran for state office, helped start the original chamber as an outreach program with just a brochure. Snyder also was instrumental in creating West Boggs Park and convinced then-candidate Richard Nixon to speak at the Hatchet House early in his 1968 presidential campaign.

Snyder said the award goes to people that really started the chamber, men like Jerry Havill, Neal Crawford, Bob Greenwood and Ott Frye.

“I can say a lot of things, but I’m not,” Snyder joked.

Snyder also joked about his recent campaign for the state’s GOP Eighth District congressional nomination. He received 618 votes in the primary from Daviess County.

“I thank those that voted for me,” Snyder said. “My family thanks those that voted against me.”

Outgoing chamber board president Chasity Matthews was honored for her service. After the awards, the Nostalgia Band, with former Daviess County Judge Robert Arthur on trombone, provided entertainment.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you