WTH Graphics Local News

Local students preparing to become teachers are among this year’s recipients of the state’s Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) and Shane Lindauer (R-Jasper).

The scholarship program, established in 2016 through legislation supported by Ellington, awards $7,500 annually to 200 high-achieving students who commit to teaching in the state for at least 5 years after graduating college.

“It’s encouraging to see so many gifted students commit to educating Hoosiers well into the future,” Ellington said. “Our children and state will benefit from these scholarship recipients using their talents for the teaching profession.”

More than 400 students applied, and these local students are among this year’s 200 scholarship recipients:

• Trinity Gingerich, North Daviess Junior/Senior High School;

• Kaelyn Klopfenstein, Barr-Reeve Middle/High School;

• Kenzie Knepp, Washington High School; and

• Meagan Miller, Barr-Reeve Middle/High School.

Lindauer said those qualifying for the renewable scholarship totaling up to $30,000 must graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

“Teachers have a lasting impact on students’ lives, and being an educator is such an honorable profession,” Lindauer said. “This scholarship rewards students for their hard work and encourages them to pursue their dreams of leading a classroom. I wish each of these students the best of luck and hope to see them return and work in our schools.”

To learn more and apply for the next round of scholarships opening in the fall, visit LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you